Am I Less Of A Human Being???

“Meeka the violence on reality television has to stop!”  “Meeka, I’m so glad you left that show!” “Meeka, I hate how reality TV is portraying black women!” “Meeka, can you believe the way grown women are acting?” “Meeka, those girls are bullies with serious issues” “Meeka, I stopped watching that show because the violence is disgusting!!”…

……These are some of my actual twitter mentions. For the last 3 months, my twitter has been flooded with these comments and hundreds more exactly like them. I said it on the reunion and I will say it again, I’m 32, a CEO, a wife and a mommy, I did not sign up for Bad Girls Club. As a mom, I am my daughters’ FIRST role model and as a black woman who has been given a platform, I have a responsibility to show young girls “better”.

Am I mad? No, more like I’m disappointed. When I was attacked everyone thought it was funny.  No one thought her actions were disgraceful. As a matter of fact the very same ladies (for lack of a better word) that are “hurt” by the backlash,  joked about me being attacked. They laughed and even called me names for taking a stand against her.

I thought pressing charges was wack?  Oooooh, I get it…it’s wack when it’s not you!

They all (except Royce) stood behind her, co-signing her actions.  But now you want everyone to believe you want balance?  As much as their hypocrisy bothers me, I expect it because now their actions threaten their money.  So, I knew the crocodile tears weren’t far behind.

What really hurts me are all of the talk show hosts and journalists that are suddenly disturbed by what they are seeing.  Taking stands, boycotting, signing petitions etc…Isn’t this what I contacted all of you about last year? I asked for your support, none of which I received. But now it’s a problem? So, it was ok for me to be physically assaulted?  Where was all of this “Call To Action” last year? Am I less of a human being?

…“Silence is the real crime against humanity.”– Nadezhda Mandelstam

35 thoughts on “Am I Less Of A Human Being???

  1. I hate to bring race or color into anything. But I SWEAR when I saw the outrage over Kesha’s attack, I said to my fiance “when she attacked Meeka….no one said a thing….they actually applauded, laughed, and found in entertaining.” I was upset, appalled, and disappointed then, as I am now. However, you were a bit backstabbing (but that’s no reason to be assaulted)…so I’m not sure if it has anything to do with race/complexion after all. I still admire you for leaving that crap though.

    • I always knew Tami and Evelyn were bullies, remember how they did Gloria Govan, she left, then it was them vs. Meeka, and now they on Kesha. So for that reason I can’t say it’s color, because they did the same thing to Gloria Govan first season, and she’s bi-racial too. Then when Meeka came on they ponced on her for no reason. No one came to Gloria’s or Meeka’s aid when they asked for help, people thought it was funny. It wasn’t until they started to see the pattern with the treatment of Kesha, that folks took notice and said something. Sad that it went on this long.

  2. It was not right then and I for one did support you ,really hated when tami made reference to your skin tone,as an older female I am so proud of you. You are u doing. So “luv KEEP YOUR HEAD TO THE SKY”

  3. I first wanna say it aint no fun when the rabbits got the gun!Karma is a….you no the rest.From the name I’m sure you won’t know who I am,but I responded to your tweet about the pink sugar perfume advising you to be careful due to there already being a perfume with the same name.Remember?May GOD continue to bless you your family & all your endeavors

  4. I know it must hurt that people didn’t take your abuse serious & even though you were disregarded atleast the problem is being dealt with now!!!! You will always be remembered as the one who took a stand against abuse & childishness!!!!! I COMMEND U GIRL!!!!!!!!

  5. Meeka when you were on the show I thought it was a change for the better Wrong! You were a woman about business and class,That whole circle crap was what is wack,Tami was wrong for striking you, and so was VH1 and all those involved for letting it happen,and now there money is starting to look funny now they want to make changes. Be happy you left the show!

  6. Meeka keep doing you! I always had your back on this. I do not understand why no one came out to support you on this. Is it because she is lighter? She physically assaulted you on national tv and everybody thought is was “cute” for grown women to be acting a fool.

  7. Hello!
    I want you to always remember that you are the main reason why people are boycotting the show. Yes, you may feel invisible to others, but you are not invisible. When it comes to the discussion about Kesha’s and Tami conflict it’s always going to reflect back on you and Tami situation. This is the reason why people are ready to boycott the show because Tami’s behavior is a continuation from Season 2 to Season 4. Tami has gotten into an altercation from Evelyn, to you and now Kesha. In my opinion, even though Evelyn and Tami had gotten into an altercation it will not reflect back on Evelyn because she’s friends with Tami now. You are a human being. Yes, there are some cruel people in the world that found you and Tami altercation funny. Like my mother always told me; Honey, when people say mean things about you don’t get upset, look who’s talking and then look at yourself, and when you are done evaluating you will have the last laugh.

    God Bless!

    • I agree. It was completely out of line for you to have been hit, however I believe it fell in with the other ridiculous high school actions on the show. Some people saw it as entertainment as opposed to violence. I am sorry that you were attacked and didn’t feel supported. I stopped watching the show regularly after that because it just became too ridiculous. The good that came forth was the focus on bullying. I hope the show is cancelled and more will be done to prevent and stop all bullying, whether adult or child. Tami owes you and Kesha a sincere, public apology.

    • Amen to that! I twitted U Meeka when the incident happen between U and Tami. I knew when Tami moved closer to U that she was going to hit U. She could have broke you’re neck, killed you and I wanted to come through that tv. I wrote U, Bravo, everyone, because she had no right. Even though you can sue her, she needs to know that that type of behavior is not tolerated….. but she didnt learn, her behavior has continued. Now, with the Keshia incident, the network wants to do something about it…. Tami was on Wendy Williams Show saying she apologized to Keshia, only because I think her money is affected, people were angry and twitting her daughters, people are picking Tami up disregarding her issues, and putting her on tv shows regardless…. They should take her and Evelyn off the BBW show. Their not BBW at all…. Tami (divorced) and Evelyn’s (never married) behavior is Adult Bullying and I have never seen anything like this before. The show should be terminated. Their behavior has gotten worse and as black women they are disrespectfully, hood, low class, and think their opinion is the only thing that counts. Goes to show you that money doesnt buy you class or happiness etc. They can talk to each other, to other people, but if someone else does it, it’s wrong, it’s talking about them behind their back (double standard). These women are mother’s…. Meeka, you tried to bring a different twist to the show and they didnt want that, you are a mature, educated, confident, happy, married, a mother, business woman, rich, and you’re not trashy etc., and that was a problem. U didn’t know these women and Suzie was the wrong one to talk too. Suzie likes drama, she wants to fit in and she is stupid, 2-faced, not loyal or trustworthy, very unattractive, real skinny, she is just light and long hair. I don’t think it had anything to do with color, but I didn’t like what Tami said about you’re color. Her childhood must have been terrible, because as a woman she should know better. Evelyn coming across that table at Jennifer showed her character…. Tami hitting you, demeaning Keshia was the most hurtful, humiliating, disrespectful etc., act of Adult Bullying that I have ever seen from an individual, adult woman, treating another woman in that manner is ridiculous. I was upset because Shaunie never stopped it (nobody stopped her) the young lady was scared, crying and nobody came to her defense. I really don’t understand why Shaunie aired and/or allowed some of this stuff air…. The show has taken a turn for showing ill minded people that it’s ok to behave in this manner and its NOT. If I can assist you in anyway I will, I will write on Adult Bullying….Maybe you should get a panel together of viewers, regular housewives etc., to evaluate the BBW, ATL Housewives, Mob Wives shows etc. I have been talking to friends about this, writing Bravo etc. I am glad you are ok. Keep up the good work. People do care about you and there is alot of people out there that didn’t think this was funny!

  8. There was less sympathy for Meeka because most felt she was two-faced and instigating, plus she was better equipped to defend herself. I think people sympathized this season not because she’s biracial (although I wouldn’t put it past society to make that a factor), but because this girl is so timid compared to Meeka. Tammi CLEARY made an issue out of nothing, then stole her purse…that’s what got people in an uproar. I personally thought Tammi was out of line for hitting Meeka. She clearly came to the club in warrior gear, ready to fight. Meeka should’ve pressed charges, not sued.

    • I SECOND THIS POSTING & THE OTHERS THAT STATE THAT YOU WERE THE VICTIM OF TAMI’S COMPLETELY UNDESERVED CRIMINAL ASSAULT, & FEEL THAT THE PRODUCERS SHOULD HAVE INTERVENED & IMMEDIATELY FIRED TAMI FOR PHYSICAL VIOLENCE. YOU PORTRAYED YOURSELF ON THE SHOW AS A CONFIDENT, CAPABLE & STRONG WOMAN, IN CONTRAST TO KESHA’S MEEK ATTITUDE, SO MAYBE THAT’S PART OF THE REASON FOR THE LACK OF PUBLIC SUPPORT FOR YOU WHEN THE SLAP OCCURRED, + THE FACT THAT THE LATEST FIGHT W/KESHA IS TAMI’S 3RD OR 4TH UNJUSTIFIED ATTACK IN 2 SEASONS. GOOD LUCK W/YOUR LAWSUIT & ENJOY YOUR LOVELY LIFE – LIVING WELL IS THE BEST REVENGE, AS WE KNOW!

  9. Meeka I personally can speak for myself as well as 5 sisters, mother, and (the whole family lol) because we have had this discussion in our home and they felt the same way. I believe it wasn’t as dramatic, but still VERY Wrong because you STOOD Up for yourself & FOUGHT BACK!!! When watching the show with you on it, you went toe to toe, spoke your mind and wasn’t afraid. Its viewed different when someone who is scared, quiet, wouldn’t stand up for herself and actually ran & cried when being perused by tami. It makes your heart kinda go out for her because she was being Bullied. Many kids and adults are killing their selves because of being taunted , bullied, harassed, and can no longer take the pressure (which is so sad, especially for this young babies). So the situation is different but still very WRONG!!! These reality shows display people fighting all the time its on ALL of them, but someone being bullied the way tami was to her is totally different in our opinion, race (to us) isn’t a factor. So don’t feel less than a human! (You stood up for yourself, left the show with your head held high!) Tami also violated the girl by taking her purse, going through her wallet, and phone! (Absolutely Crazy) I never cared or liked tami from DAY1 while everyone loved her. I saw right through her, its a difference in being real and being rude, disrespectful, out of place, and bitch!!! I hope the best for you and I’m sure your very thankful that you left that TRASH BOX SHOW!!!

    GOD BLESS!

  10. You’re not less human we just live in a messed up world especially within our own self hating community. I love and respect your strength and beauty.

  11. Pingback: Meeka Claxton Weighs-In on Basketball Wives Drama «

  12. Meeka, the reason why they didn’t consider your incident bullying is because you actually stood up for yourself and didn’t take the verbal tongue-lashing from Tami that Kesha got. Kesha just sat there and took it. Exactly how you said it tho, now that their money is being threatened and sponsors are pulling away from the show is when they decided they want to get a cleaner image.

  13. Pingback: Am I Less Than A Human Being? By Meeka Claxton « So Let's Chat

  14. I can’t speak for other folks but I tagged you in MANY MANY comments defending the fight you had and saying you were right. I tagged you in MANY tweets saying I was glad you pressed charges to show Tami it wasn’t alright to just smack someone for being animated while she was talking. I also left comments for VH1 telling them they were dead wrong for letting that go on and talking about how miserable they had to be to get this mad on vacation. I only read a few comments on this blog but I will say that I think the difference between you and Kesha are three things:

    1) There was a point where you did stand up to Tami at the horse race and she wasn’t confrontational. Kesha has never stood up to Tami once. 2) I don’t think any viewers thought you couldn’t take her. I have no proof whatsoever about whether you can fight or not (that fight was too quick) but I think viewers like me thought Kesha was going to get beat to bloodied. I personally thought you and Tami were going to go toe to toe. I looked at you two fighting the way I did when Evelyn and Tami got into it at that restaurant. With Kesha it didn’t seem like a fair fight. 3) You kept coming out on top. You never seemed to break stride. Kesha was crying, going to her room, reporting a purse stolen and backing down nonstop. You never backed down. You apologized like, “Yeah, I’m saying sorry about the weave comment no matter how dumb it is, but you only have a couple more times before I raise up.”

    I thought Tami was trying your patience but I didn’t quite feel like she was bullying you. But again for what it’s worth, I was ALWAYS on your side and even debated those who thought it was funny. Yes, you did go back and forth about who you could be cool with and I think had Kesha done that, people may have looked at her a little differently. You two definitely didn’t seem to have anything in common outside of both being under Tami’s wrath. But you didn’t deserve the treatment you got.

  15. Pingback: Meeka Claxton Says No One Defended Her When Tami Roman Punched & Bullied Her Last Season « theJASMINE.BRAND

  16. I was extremely upset when Tami hit you and I actually thought Tami wasnt a great fighter, you were able to kick her off of you and hit her several times. I was most disappointed with Shaunie for reading the letter. Also Jennifer talked major crap about you and said thats what you get. Society sympathizes more with Kesha because she appears to be a weak bi-racial girl, she has that whole “tragic mulatto” thing going on. Society is extremely color conscious and im sure in their minds its the big black girl beating up the poor little white girl. When Tami called you “black a**”, more people should have been upset, I was and really only watch lil clips of the show on the internet. Im totally anti violent but I secretly wished you would have slapped Suzie.

  17. Hey Lady!!!!!!!! I am so disgusted wit Shaunie O’Neal………she is the catalyst for all of it from Gloria to poor Keisha……….I think her incident really opened ppl eyes………..Gloria was no punk……nd u fought bak as well………she continually bullied Keisha knowin that she has no fight in her. Even Shaunie was kinda like really?! But her punk ass was to scared to say it outright…..I’m glad u left mama!!!!!”

  18. WHEN TAMI CAME ON THE SHOW SHE WAS THIRSTY SHE WALKED IN WITH HER KMART BLUE LIGHT SPECIAL OUTFIT BOUGHT WITH THE FOOD STAMPS SHE SOLD AND HER BIRDS NEST HAIR LOOKING A HOT MESS AND TRIED TO BLEND IN WHILE THE OTHER GIRLS HELD THEIR NOSES. I SUSPECT THAT SHAUNIE ADVISED HER IF SHE WAS WILLING TO KICK UP THE DRAMA THEN SHE COULD HAVE A STEADY PAYCHECK AND THEN SHE CAN INVEST IN MAKING HER DAUGHTERS THROW BACK RAPPERS AND BECOME RICH INSTEAD OF INVESTING IN THEIR EDUCATION, I CALL THAT A CRUMB SNATCHER MOVE . BUT MEEKA I THOUGHT ABOUT YOU WHEN I SAW ALL THE BACKLASH ABOUT KESHA, I WAS LIKE DIDN’T A BLACK GIRL GET ATTACKED LAST YEAR AND EVERYONE ON THE SHOW AND ELSEWHERE THOUGHT IT WAS OK. AND MEEKA I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED IN YOUR COMEBACKS ON THE REUNION SHOW CAUSE THEM DINGY HOES WOULD HAVE HAD A VERBAL TONGUE LASHING. SHAUNIE IS THE BIGGEST INSTIGATOR OF THEM ALL WITH THAT GORILLA NOSE, AND BE TRYING TO ACT LIKE SHE NOT A PART OF IT AND ALL THE WHILE LAUGHING IN THE BACKGROUND, SHE AIN’T FOOLING ME. GIRL YOU DID YOUR DAUGHTERS A FAVOR LEAVING THAT MESS NOW CONCENTRATE ON THEIR DEBUTANTE BALL. BLACK PEOPLE EXPAND YOUR MINDS THIS IS 2011, STOP THAT WHEN THE YELLA COUSIN GET HIT EVERYBODY GET UPSET AS WHEN I WAS A CHILD, CAUSE TO WHITE FOLKS WHATEVER SHADE OF BLACK YOU ARE YOU STILL A BLACK N*GGA TO THEM, LOOK HOW THEY DISRESPECT YOUR PRESIDENT.

  19. Hey Meeka, its me @Gabee_Rocks we exchange many mentions together, and i must say I NEVER will get over what Tami did to you. Royce keeps it real with Tami and im glad she didnt cosign! and i feel you… why is it different now?? PLEASE SOMEONE TELL ME! Meeka was assaulted along with bullied and Kesha was just bullied no punch was thrown! MEEKA I LOVE YOU AND IF I WAS YOU I WOULD KEEP TRYING TO GET IT OUT THERE! Tami (along with EVELYN …THE REAL NON FACTOR) needs to pay for there actions.. love you Meeka (KEEP TRYING) get it out there… Wendy Williams is a low life, let her talk shit (SHE WILL ALWAYS DO THAT) but, keep trying ..! Talk to Inside Edition, Oprah, DR. PHIL, etc..

  20. Shaunie is mostly to blame because she is an Exec. Producer, and I was and have been absolutely disgusted by her just standing by and doing nothing. You always see Ms. O’neal on that show helping to stir the pot, but when there is a fight you will see her do nothing to defuse the situation. We all have watched her put on an innocent face and play both sides and the ends against the middle. Now you see her in the previews for next week running to a her pastor for advice, HI-LAR-I-OUS! Tami Roman obviously gets off on violence and confrontation, controversy has been her claim to fame since Real World. I watched how she always went out of her way to refer to your complexion negatively, but by her trying to justify it added insult to injury. Personally I feel sorry for Tami because she has not put herself if a position that will not be easy to get out of. Tami has sold and marketed herself to the public as another angry, aggressive, ghetto, hoodrat. You don’t get to see her as a lady of virtue and loving individual, people expect to turn on their television and she her fighting and cussing someone out. It’s sad when you really look at it, because people loved and accepted her as this in your face character and Shaunie made sure that she was paid to continue in that image. LOL, Tami allowed Shaunie to pay her to publicly be a puppet. Yes, a puppet, because if Tami does try to clean up her image she will get fired from the show, because they want to see Black Women act like ghetto n- – gers and wild animals. As a Proud Black Woman, I am VERY PROUD of how you handle yourself Meeka, you did the right thing, I only wish that you would have went ahead and pushed to see Tami in jail. You pressing charges and taking it all the way would have been just the wake up call that she needed, and it may have caused her to slow her role.

  21. Fortunately I stopped watching BBW quite a while ago…I have never in my life, wait, I take that back…I have not seen females act in such a manner since middle school. The utter disrespect that they display towards each other is sickening. Meeka, the best thing you could have done was leave the show. I will be honest and admit, that I saw the potential for you to join the ranks of Tami and Evelyn, and I’m sure you know that is poor company to keep. I think BBW reminds us all how important it is to be true to one’s self and to others.

  22. I feel for you because you are so right. Tami is a horrible bully and she bullied YOU as well. The sad thing is she doesn’t think she did anything wrong. We will see her repeat her bulling ways again because that’s who she is. A BULLY.

  23. I think everyone took notice now and possible it could be a race thing but honestly I don’t think so. I think you try to stand your grounf with Tami and you are not a punk. I am not going to call Kesha a punk but everyone just felt sorry for her because she just didn’t even want to breathe in front of Tami, like she was terrified. But i think the world and the fans are learning from their mistakes. When Tami attacked you, I thought it was horrible. And they never really gave you a chance on the show, everyone kept saying you were trying to fit in yada, yada and maybe they fans felt like you were trying too hard but you know it’s all up to you if you want to forgive the world. Honestly, you know who your true friends and family are and as long as you have that, nothing else matters, hon. I think everyone will be flooding your blog because they feel truly guilty about how they treated you. But I think this is the BBW. With Jen and Ev, like it doesn’t even make any sense? How do you feel about their friendship going down the drain? And the rest of the girls on the show? God bless you and your family.

  24. I never liked how they treated you, every chance I got I encouraged you to continue your lawsuit against her for assaulting you. Did you go through with the lawsuit? You did the best thing you could have done for yourself by leaving that mess in your rear view. It is just a matter of time until that circus act is shut down.. Along with your incident, others before you and this last fiasco that took place was just the straw that broke the camel’s back, it is just time to put an end to the madness.

  25. Pingback: Meeka Claxton “Where Was The Outcry When Tami Attacked Me? | Reality Wives

  26. Hey Meeka boo, I didn’t even know u had a blog.I spoke to you on Twitter and first of all let me give you your props becuz half of them a holes don’t even respond .Girl boo,them tack head bitches was just jealous because you was the only one who could really live up to the title Basketball Wife.They had the nerve to clown you about who your husband is and I ain’t never in my 36 years heard of nann one of they dudes but Shaq. Shaunie need to sit her ass down somewhere and fix them kids up before she put them on national tv again looking like that .She be all g’d up hair laid and kids look homeless .If I was. Shaq I’d whoop her ass. Now back to the topic U should’ve known Suzie Joker looking ass was messy and a mole,if u ask me that’s who starts all the drama .She is so glad the heat is off of her.I’m so glad you left ,them has beens have no other means to make money and that’s why they do that shit for ratings and make whack ass t shirts and jewelry because they think every time they clown somebody gonna buy their shit .Evelyn ugly ass could drop dead 2 ma and I wouldn’t care…People like you intimidate ppl like them they looking for mofos who gone crumble and make them look bad.That shit wit Kesha don’t even count that was like trying to fight a child.lol keep your head up baby girl .Fuck dem lonely miserable BIATCHES!!

  27. Ms, Claxton

    It’s been very clear dating back to prior to Tami joining in Season 2 that you as well as her and the rest are being used in order to serve as huge paycheck to the so-called “innocent” Shaunie O’Neal. Seeing as she allows the bullyings of Gloria, Royce, Yourself, and now Kesha to escalade into utter madness. proves that she doesn’t give a damn about any of you ladies well-beings; she only looking after her money. Everybody loses except for her. If anyone who should apologize it her and the network (for agreeing to air this atrocity of a program).

    You did right by leaving that 3-ring circus of a show.

Leave a Reply

