Long Island Mommies Night Out!

This week has been all about bonding with my fellow Long Island mommies. Yes, I adore the “city” but I have a special place in my heart for Long Island…it’s where I met my husband.

Building our house on Long Island was one thing, but actually living here full time was definitely an adjustment, to say the least.  The kids have a billion extra-curriculars and the moms are fixtures at the school and everybody knows everybody!!! 

Balancing the kid’s activities (yes, my kids weren’t going to miss out), ALL of the school fundraisers/events, my two businesses, my household and my LIFE was a mission. But this past week, I got a chance to de-stress and bond with the other Long Island mommies. We headed over to Carlyle on the Green where the theme was “Year of the  Dragon” and the wine, champagne (and vodka) were flowing and the DJ kept us dancing all night long! 

I always thought Long Island meant soccer moms, uggs and mini vans but I was sooooooooo wrong! My girls didn’t just pull up in Bentleys, Mercedes and Range Rovers like a YMCMB music video but thay also know how to have a good time. The ladies didn’t give their 6 inch designer platforms a break!  And, I have to say, I loved every minute of it. 

Needless to say, I have a new found adoration for my fellow Long Island mommies. They made me, the newbie, feel right at home. Plus, they surprised the hell out of me. I’m not giving up on the “city” and those 40 minute drives  each way but I guess Manhattan isn’t the “only” place to be these days  😉 Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

